Viewing entries tagged
Publishers Weekly

Comment

Buzz-worthy News from @HBGCanada! #booknews

USA NETWORK announces series pickup for Megan Abbott’s DARE ME!

Abbott will serve as writer and executive producer, along with Gina Fattoree. The series will be Co-Produced by UCP and Netflix in association with Film 44 and will star Willa Fitzgerald, Herizen Guardiola and Marlo Kelly. It will be executive produced by ‘Friday Night Lights’’ Peter Berg and Michael Lombardo of Film 44.

Airdate to come!

Dare Me.jpg


Check out the incredible review's for Rachel Barenbaum’s debut novel!

[A] rousing debut…Fans of Kristin Hannah will enjoy Barenbaum’s exhilarating tale.
— Publishers Weekly
Grand Central Publishing | OSD: 5/14/2019 | ISBN: 9781538746264

Grand Central Publishing | OSD: 5/14/2019 | ISBN: 9781538746264

A sweeping epic that transports the reader into another era, even as the struggles of its characters feel powerfully modern and timely.
— Madeline Miller, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Circe
A Bend in the Stars is a vivid and wrenching debut, full not only with the darkness of history but also with hope — a literary saga for fans of The Invisible Bridge and All the Light We Cannot See. Love and war and Relativity weave together seamlessly, and we’re left understanding that there’s more than one way for the universe to bend.
— Rebecca Makkai, National Book Award Finalist for The Great Believers

Emma Watson has incredible things to say about Stephen Chbosky’s IMAGINARY FRIEND!

GCP / 10/01/19 / ISBN: 978-1-5387-3133-8)

GCP / 10/01/19 / ISBN: 978-1-5387-3133-8)

Like The Perks of Being a Wallflower, IMAGINARY FRIEND says that no matter how dark the places you have been or the things you have seen, no one and nothing and nowhere is beyond redemption. What is astonishing and laugh-out-loud genius is that Chbosky has disguised all this wisdom in an Spielbergesque horror thriller... In true Stephen Chbosky style, he gives you the bran and the donut. I don’t know how he did it. But he did it. It’s a masterpiece. A novel with profundity of Milton that’s actually pageturning.
— Emma Watson, Actress and United Nations Goodwill Ambassador

Kimberla Lawson Roby’s BETTER LATE THAN NEVER has been nominated for a 2018 NAACP Image Award in the Outstanding Literary Work (Fiction) Category!

GCP | 7/31/18 | 9781455569762

GCP | 7/31/18 | 9781455569762

This is the 50th Anniversary of the Image Awards, and winners will be announced on March 30th. Literature is one of many award categories, including Motion Picture, Television, Recording, and Directing.

View the entire list of nominees here.


Earlier this week, Little, Brown announced the acquisition of UNEXPECTED, the long-awaited memoir from Katie Couric, one of the most celebrated and beloved journalists of our time. Publication is slated for spring 2021 Read the press release here.


Octavia E. Butler's Parable books will be reissued by Grand Central Publishing, beginning with Parable of the Sower. It's sequel, Parable of the Talents, will be reissued later in the year.

Read N.K. Jemisin’s Foreword to Parable of the Sower here.

April 30, 2019, 9781538732182

April 30, 2019, 9781538732182

Comment

Praise for YOU SHOULD HAVE KNOWN...

25906d314df6192f270fbbc6058c8bce

Entertainment Weekly calls YOU SHOULD HAVE KNOWN “The Thriller We’re Already Obsessed With”!!

“This excellent literary mystery [unfolds] with authentic detail in a rarefied contemporary Manhattan. . . intriguing and beautiful.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Jason Bourne meets Martha Stewart in another of Korelitz’s woman-of-a-certain-age-in-crisis dramas. The author's 2009 novel, Admission, is now a film starring Tina Fey. Well, not quite Jason Bourne. But Grace Reinhart Sachs is almost as resourceful…Korelitz writes with clarity and an unusual sense of completeness; she doesn’t overdescribe, but neither does she let much of anything go by without observing it, which slows an already deliberately paced narrative. She is also an ascended master of the psychologically fraught situation, of which Grace experiences many as she stumbles on but then rises above the wreckage of her life. A smart, leisurely study of midlife angst.” Kirkus Reviews

About the Book

Grace Reinhart Sachs is living the only life she ever wanted for herself. Devoted to her husband, a pediatric oncologist at a major cancer hospital, their young son Henry, and the patients she sees in her therapy practice, her days are full of familiar things: she lives in the very New York apartment in which she was raised, and sends Henry to the school she herself once attended. Dismayed by the ways in which women delude themselves, Grace is also the author of a book You Should Have Known, in which she cautions women to really hear what men are trying to tell them. But weeks before the book is published a chasm opens in her own life: a violent death, a missing husband, and, in the place of a man Grace thought she knew, only an ongoing chain of terrible revelations. Left behind in the wake of a spreading and very public disaster, and horrified by the ways in which she has failed to heed her own advice, Grace must dismantle one life and create another for her child and herself.

Read more: http://www.hachettebookgroup.com!

REALITY BOY | Winter 2013-2014 Kids' Indie Next List Top Ten

Exciting news: REALITY BOY by A.S. King has been chosen as a Top Ten title featured on the Winter 2013-2014 Kids' Indie Next List!

Reality BoyTHREE STARRED REVIEWS!

* "Heart-pounding and heartbreaking...This is no fairy-tale romance, but a compulsively readable portrait of two imperfect teens learning to trust each other." - Kirkus Reviews

* "This is a story about healing, and although Gerald stumbles as he takes his first steps, his candor invites sympathy from the first page." -Publishers Weekly

* "King’s trademarks–attuned first-person narrative, convincing dialogue, realistic language, and fitting quirkiness–connect effectively in this disturbing, yet hopeful novel." -School Library Journal

About the Book In this fearless portrayal of a boy on the edge, highly acclaimed Printz Honor author A.S. King explores the desperate reality of a former child "star" struggling to break free of his anger.

Gerald Faust started feeling angry even before his mother invited a reality TV crew into his five-year-old life. Twelve years later, he's still haunted by his rage-filled youth--which the entire world got to watch from every imaginable angle--and his anger issues have resulted in violent outbursts, zero friends, and clueless adults dumping him in the special education room at school. No one cares that Gerald has tried to learn to control himself; they're all just waiting for him to snap. And he's starting to feel dangerously close to doing just that...until he chooses to create possibilities for himself that he never knew he deserved.

Read more at www.hachettebookgroup.com. 

Reality BoyPublisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers Price: $20.00 CAN Pages: 368 Physical Dimensions: 5-1/2" x 8-1/4" ISBN-13: 9780316222709 On Sale Date: 10/22/2013