Viewing entries tagged
News

Comment

Buzz-worthy News from @HBGCanada! #booknews

USA NETWORK announces series pickup for Megan Abbott’s DARE ME!

Abbott will serve as writer and executive producer, along with Gina Fattoree. The series will be Co-Produced by UCP and Netflix in association with Film 44 and will star Willa Fitzgerald, Herizen Guardiola and Marlo Kelly. It will be executive produced by ‘Friday Night Lights’’ Peter Berg and Michael Lombardo of Film 44.

Airdate to come!

Dare Me.jpg


Check out the incredible review's for Rachel Barenbaum’s debut novel!

[A] rousing debut…Fans of Kristin Hannah will enjoy Barenbaum’s exhilarating tale.
— Publishers Weekly
Grand Central Publishing | OSD: 5/14/2019 | ISBN: 9781538746264

Grand Central Publishing | OSD: 5/14/2019 | ISBN: 9781538746264

A sweeping epic that transports the reader into another era, even as the struggles of its characters feel powerfully modern and timely.
— Madeline Miller, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Circe
A Bend in the Stars is a vivid and wrenching debut, full not only with the darkness of history but also with hope — a literary saga for fans of The Invisible Bridge and All the Light We Cannot See. Love and war and Relativity weave together seamlessly, and we’re left understanding that there’s more than one way for the universe to bend.
— Rebecca Makkai, National Book Award Finalist for The Great Believers

Emma Watson has incredible things to say about Stephen Chbosky’s IMAGINARY FRIEND!

GCP / 10/01/19 / ISBN: 978-1-5387-3133-8)

GCP / 10/01/19 / ISBN: 978-1-5387-3133-8)

Like The Perks of Being a Wallflower, IMAGINARY FRIEND says that no matter how dark the places you have been or the things you have seen, no one and nothing and nowhere is beyond redemption. What is astonishing and laugh-out-loud genius is that Chbosky has disguised all this wisdom in an Spielbergesque horror thriller... In true Stephen Chbosky style, he gives you the bran and the donut. I don’t know how he did it. But he did it. It’s a masterpiece. A novel with profundity of Milton that’s actually pageturning.
— Emma Watson, Actress and United Nations Goodwill Ambassador

Kimberla Lawson Roby’s BETTER LATE THAN NEVER has been nominated for a 2018 NAACP Image Award in the Outstanding Literary Work (Fiction) Category!

GCP | 7/31/18 | 9781455569762

GCP | 7/31/18 | 9781455569762

This is the 50th Anniversary of the Image Awards, and winners will be announced on March 30th. Literature is one of many award categories, including Motion Picture, Television, Recording, and Directing.

View the entire list of nominees here.


Earlier this week, Little, Brown announced the acquisition of UNEXPECTED, the long-awaited memoir from Katie Couric, one of the most celebrated and beloved journalists of our time. Publication is slated for spring 2021 Read the press release here.


Octavia E. Butler's Parable books will be reissued by Grand Central Publishing, beginning with Parable of the Sower. It's sequel, Parable of the Talents, will be reissued later in the year.

Read N.K. Jemisin’s Foreword to Parable of the Sower here.

April 30, 2019, 9781538732182

April 30, 2019, 9781538732182

Comment

Book Trailer & Reviews for THE COLDEST GIRL IN COLDTOWN by Holly Black

"Black's writing is quick packed and thought-provoking.  A must-have…" School Library Journal

"You may be ready to put a stake in vampire lit, but read this first: It's dark and dangerous, bloody and brilliant." Kirkus Reviews

"This superior, dread-soaked tale will satisfy vampire addicts of all ages." Publishers Weekly

"Will enthrall Black's fans from start to finish." Booklist

12813630The Coldest Girl in Coldtown Format: Hardcover Book Price: $21.00 CAN ISBN-13: 9780316213103 On Sale Date: 09/03/2013 Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Tana lives in a world where walled cities called Coldtowns exist. In them, quarantined monsters and humans mingle in a decadently bloody mix of predator and prey. The only problem is, once you pass through Coldtown's gates, you can never leave.

One morning, after a perfectly ordinary party, Tana wakes up surrounded by corpses. The only other survivors of this massacre are her exasperatingly endearing ex-boyfriend, infected and on the edge, and a mysterious boy burdened with a terrible secret. Shaken and determined, Tana enters a race against the clock to save the three of them the only way she knows how: by going straight to the wicked, opulent heart of Coldtown itself.

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown is a wholly original story of rage and revenge, of guilt and horror, and of love and loathing from bestselling and acclaimed author Holly Black.

Read more at: http://www.hachettebookgroup.com/titles/holly-black/the-coldest-girl-in-coldtown/9780316213103/#sthash.sVXbGE3v.dpuf