On Friday, January 31st, Publishers Weekly announced that The Watermelon Seed, written and illustrated by Disney Hyperion Books author Greg Pizzoli, has won the coveted and highly respected THEODOR SEUSS GEISEL AWARD! Watermelon SeedThe Theodor Seuss Geisel Award (a.k.a. the Dr. Seuss award) is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.   The winner(s), recognized for their literary and artistic achievements that demonstrate creativity and imagination to engage children in reading, receives a bronze medal.  Honor Book authors and illustrators receive certificates, which are presented at the ALA Annual Conference.  The award was established in 2004 and first presented in 2006. For more information, please visit http://www.ala.org/alsc/awardsgrants/bookmedia/geiselaward/geiselabout.

About the Book

With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is realized? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink? This crocodile has a wild imagination that kids will love. With bold color and beautiful sense of design, Greg Pizzoli’s picture book debut takes this familiar childhood worry and gives us a true gem in the vein of I Want My Hat Back and Not a Box.

Watermelon-award-cover

Ages 3-5
Hardcover
40 pages
Author: Greg Pizzoli
Released on: 2013-05-14
ISBN: 978-1-4231-7101-0